Car Whose Emblem Is A Trident Crossword

Car Whose Emblem Is a Trident Crossword: Unraveling the Enigma

The automotive industry is replete with iconic emblems that have become synonymous with luxury, performance, and prestige. Among these, the trident, a three-pronged symbol, stands out as the emblem of a single renowned car manufacturer: Maserati.

Definition: Maserati’s Trident Emblem

The Maserati trident is a stylized representation of the statue of Neptune, the Roman god of the sea, which is located in the Piazza del Nettuno in Bologna, Italy. The trident, a three-pronged spear, is a symbol of Neptune’s power and authority over the waters.

Types of Maserati Models with the Trident Emblem

Maserati has a rich history of producing a wide range of vehicles, all of which bear the iconic trident emblem. These models include:

  • Sedans: Ghibli, Quattroporte
  • Coupes: GranTurismo, MC20
  • Convertibles: GranCabrio
  • SUVs: Levante, Grecale
  • Race Cars: MC12, MC20 GT3

Differences Between Maserati Models

While all Maserati models share the trident emblem, they differ significantly in terms of size, performance, and price.

Characteristic Sedan (Ghibli, Quattroporte) Coupe (GranTurismo, MC20) Convertible (GranCabrio) SUV (Levante, Grecale) Race Car (MC12, MC20 GT3)
Size Mid-size to full-size Compact to mid-size Compact to mid-size Mid-size to full-size Compact
Performance 0-60 mph in 4-5 seconds 0-60 mph in 2-3 seconds 0-60 mph in 3-4 seconds 0-60 mph in 3-4 seconds 0-60 mph in under 3 seconds
Price $70,000-$150,000 $100,000-$250,000 $120,000-$200,000 $80,000-$130,000 $500,000-$1,000,000

Ease of Identifying a Maserati

Identifying a Maserati is relatively easy due to its distinctive trident emblem. The emblem is typically located on the front grille, hood, and rear trunk lid. Additionally, Maserati vehicles often feature a "Saetta" (lightning bolt) logo on the side fenders.

Process of Purchasing a Maserati

Purchasing a Maserati involves the following steps:

  1. Research: Determine your budget, desired model, and features.
  2. Visit a Dealership: Test drive the desired model and discuss financing options.
  3. Negotiate: Negotiate the purchase price, trade-in value, and financing terms.
  4. Purchase: Sign the purchase agreement and take delivery of the vehicle.

Advantages of Owning a Maserati

Owning a Maserati offers several advantages, including:

  • Prestige and Status: Maseratis are renowned for their luxury and performance, which confer status and prestige upon their owners.
  • Driving Experience: Maseratis are known for their thrilling driving experience, with powerful engines and responsive handling.
  • Italian Craftsmanship: Maseratis are handcrafted in Italy, ensuring exceptional quality and attention to detail.
  • Exclusivity: Maseratis are relatively rare, making them a unique and exclusive possession.

Disadvantages of Owning a Maserati

Owning a Maserati also comes with some disadvantages:

  • High Cost: Maseratis are expensive to purchase and maintain.
  • Fuel Consumption: Maseratis have powerful engines that consume significant amounts of fuel.
  • Limited Practicality: Some Maserati models, such as the MC20, are not as practical as other vehicles in terms of space and functionality.
  • Maintenance Costs: Maseratis require specialized maintenance and repairs, which can be expensive.

How to Maintain a Maserati

Maintaining a Maserati involves regular servicing and inspections to ensure optimal performance and longevity. This includes:

  • Oil Changes: Every 5,000-7,500 miles
  • Tire Rotations: Every 5,000-7,500 miles
  • Brake Inspections: Every 10,000-15,000 miles
  • Major Services: Every 30,000-60,000 miles

What to Look for When Buying a Used Maserati

When buying a used Maserati, it is important to consider the following factors:

  • Mileage: High mileage can indicate potential mechanical issues.
  • Maintenance History: A well-maintained Maserati will have a documented maintenance history.
  • Accident History: Check for any previous accidents or damage.
  • Condition: Inspect the vehicle thoroughly for any signs of wear or damage.


The Maserati trident emblem is a symbol of luxury, performance, and Italian craftsmanship. It adorns a range of vehicles from sedans to race cars, each offering a unique driving experience. While owning a Maserati comes with advantages such as prestige and exclusivity, it also involves considerations such as high cost and maintenance requirements. Nonetheless, for those who value performance, style, and the allure of Italian engineering, a Maserati remains an aspirational automotive icon.


Q: What is the origin of the Maserati trident emblem?
A: The trident is a stylized representation of the statue of Neptune in Bologna, Italy.

Q: How many prongs does the Maserati trident have?
A: The Maserati trident has three prongs.

Q: What is the most expensive Maserati model?
A: The most expensive Maserati model is the MC20 GT3 race car, which costs over $500,000.

Q: What is the most fuel-efficient Maserati model?
A: The most fuel-efficient Maserati model is the Ghibli Hybrid, which has a combined fuel economy of 24 mpg.

Q: What is the average lifespan of a Maserati?
A: With proper maintenance, a Maserati can last for 10-15 years or more.

Closing Statement

The Maserati trident emblem is a timeless symbol of automotive excellence. It represents a heritage of innovation, performance, and Italian craftsmanship. Whether you are a seasoned collector or an aspiring enthusiast, the allure of a Maserati is undeniable.


The information provided in this article is for general knowledge purposes only and should not be construed as professional advice. It is recommended to consult with a qualified automotive expert or Maserati dealership for specific guidance and recommendations.